Industry News

Final Haskins Award presented by Stifel watch list announced

Recognizing the most outstanding male NCAA Division I college golfer, past winners include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Justin Thomas - Winner to be announced on Tuesday, May 30 - Voting now open for the Haskins Award

COLUMBUS, Ga., May 22, 2023 – The Haskins Foundation today announced the final watch  list for the Haskins Award presented by Stifel, recognizing the most outstanding male NCAA  Division I college golfer for the 2022-23 season. The final watch list has been narrowed down to  10 players in men’s college golf based on their performances during the season. 

Voting for the 2023 Haskins Award is now open HERE . Eligible voters are college golfers,  coaches and members of the golf media. Voting will be open through the conclusion of the  NCAA Men’s Golf Championships Individual Championship on Monday, May 29. The winner  will be announced during GOLF Channel’s coverage of the NCAA Men’s Golf Championships  on Tuesday, May 30. 

“We are excited to announce our finalists for the Haskins Award presented by Stifel, each who  have put up tremendous results during the 2022-23 college golf season,” said Brian Stubbs,  executive director of the Haskins Foundation, who oversees the award. "We encourage players,  coaches and our colleagues in the college golf media to vote in determining the 2023 Haskins  Award winner, and we look forward to congratulating the winner on May 30.” 

The 10 finalists for the Haskins Award presented by Stifel (alphabetical order): 

Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech 
• 2022-23 season: Four wins and nine top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 2 | Golfweek – 2  
• Ranked No. 1 in the World Amateur Golf Rankings 

Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois 
• 2022-23 season: One win and eight top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 4 | Golfstat – 6  

David Ford, North Carolina 
• 2023-23 season: One win and eight top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 10 | Golfweek – 7

Benjamin James, Virginia 
• 2022-23 season: Five wins and 10 top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 7 | Golfweek – 4  

Tommy Kuhl, Illinois 
• 2022-23 season: Nine top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat– 8 | Golfweek – 11  

Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech 
• 2022-23 season: One win, eight top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 6 | Golfweek – 5  

Maxwell Moldovan, Ohio State 
• 2022-23 season: One win, 10 top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 9 | Golfweek – 15  

Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt 
• 2022-23 season: Three wins and 11 top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 1 | Golfweek – 1  

Preston Summerhays, Arizona State 
• 2022-23 season: One win, seven top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 5 | Golfweek – 9  

Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford 
• 2022-23 season: Two wins, eight top-10 finishes 
• Golfstat – 3 | Golfweek – 3  

Voting for the Haskins Award presented by Stifel will be compiled and verified by the Haskins Foundation, which oversees the award. Past winners of the Haskins Award have captured 33  major championships and more than 400 professional tournament victories around the world.  Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, David Duval, Ben Crenshaw and Justin  Thomas. Oklahoma’s Chris Gotterup was the recipient of the 2022 Haskins Award.  

For more information on the Haskins Award presented by Stifel, visit Follow the Haskins Award on social media:  @TheHaskinsAward on Twitter and The Haskins Award on Instagram.  

About the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel 

Celebrating its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is annually given to the top  male U.S. collegiate golfer as voted on by college golfers, coaches and members of the golf  media. Past winners of the Haskins Award presented by Stifel have captured 33 major  championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Named in honor  of Fred Haskins, the award is managed by the Haskins Foundation to acknowledge the top male 

golfer at the end of the season and to match the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel, which  acknowledges the top female Division I collegiate golfer. 

Stifel, one of the nation’s leading wealth management and investment banking firms, serves as  the presenting sponsor of both the ANNIKA and Haskins Awards, recognizing annually the most  outstanding NCAA Division I female and male college golfers. Stifel also serves as a presenting  sponsor for the NCAA Division I Women’s and Men’s Golf Championships on GOLF Channel. 

About Stifel 

Stifel Financial Corp. (NYSE: SF) is a financial services holding company headquartered in St.  Louis, Missouri, that conducts its banking, securities, and financial services business through  several wholly owned subsidiaries. Stifel’s broker-dealer clients are served in the United States  through Stifel, Nicolaus & Company, Incorporated, including its Eaton Partners business  division; Keefe, Bruyette & Woods, Inc.; Miller Buckfire & Co., LLC; and Stifel Independent  Advisors, LLC; and in the United Kingdom and Europe through Stifel Nicolaus Europe Limited.  The Company’s broker-dealer affiliates provide securities brokerage, investment banking,  trading, investment advisory, and related financial services to individual investors, professional  money managers, businesses, and municipalities. Stifel Bank and Stifel Bank & Trust offer a full  range of consumer and commercial lending solutions. Stifel Trust Company, N.A. and Stifel  Trust Company Delaware, N.A. offer trust and related services. To learn more about Stifel,  please visit the Company’s website at For global disclosures, please visit  

About Fred Haskins and the Haskins Foundation 

From the seaside town of Liverpool to a quaint Donald Ross course in Georgia, Fred Haskins built a reputation for mentoring young golfers. Haskins was head professional at the Country Club of Columbus for 34 years, recommended for the position by the legendary Bobby Jones. His proteges learned the game in Saturday morning classes that cost a nickel. They went on to 

win more than 150 collegiate and amateur tournaments. Since its formation in 1971, the Haskins Foundation has been devoted to amateur golf and the presentation of the Haskins Award. This coveted trophy honors the year’s outstanding college golfer and the memory of Fred Haskins, an obscure club pro that spent his life nurturing and mentoring amateur golfers. The foundation, based in Columbus, Ga., oversees the voting for the Haskins Award conducted among college golfers, coaches and golf media. For more information on the Haskins Foundation, visit

Media Contacts: 
Brian Stubbs, PGA Jeremy Friedman Executive Director Haskins Award presented by Stifel Haskins Foundation / Haskins Award presented by Stifel Outlyr 
706-580-9955 407-721-9752