Industry News

Industry Notes: Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Nelly Korda headling U.S. women's Olympic golf team

USA Golf: Nelly Korda, Lilia Vu and Rose Zhang will represent the United States at the Olympic Games Paris 2024, set for Aug. 7-10 at Le Golf National. Korda, currently world No. 1, won the women's competition gold medal at the 2020 Olympics Games in Tokyo. Vu (ranked No. 2 in the world) and Zhang (No. 9) will make their Olympic Games debuts.

Maryland State Golf Association, Middle Atlantic PGA: Create a new team event — the Dolan Cup, which is named after professional emeritus Robert (Bob) Dolan Jr. of Columbia Country Club in Chevy Chase, Maryland. Teams comprised of eight players representing the MSGA and the Maryland contingent of the MAPGA will face off in the inaugural Dolan Cup Matches, Nov. 2, 2024, at Lakewood Country Club in Rockville, Maryland.

LPGA Foundation: Celina Sattelkau of Vanderbilt University is the recipient of the 2024 Dinah Shore Trophy, which recognizes the top collegiate female golfer who excels in both academics and athletics. In 2024, Sattelkau maintained a 4.0 GPA while earning her Master of Science in Finance from the Owen Graduate School of Management, and helped the Commodores conclude their 2024 season at the NCAA Championships with the program's highest finish since 2014.

International Golf Federation: The two-year qualification period for the women’s golf competition at the Olympic Games Paris 2024 concluded on June 25 with the publication of the final women’s Olympic Golf Ranking. The ranking features 60 qualifiers representing 33 different countries with only the United States and the Republic of Korea with more than two qualifiers. The qualifiers are: Nelly Korda (USA), Lilia Vu (USA), Jin Young Ko (Republic of Korea), Ruoning Yin (China), Amy Yang (Republic of Korea), Celine Boutier (France), Hannah Green (Australia), Charley Hull (Great Britain), Rose Zhang (USA), Yuka Saso (Japan), Minjee Lee (Australia), Atthaya Thitikul (Thailand), Hyo-Joo Kim (Republic of Korea), Brooke Henderson (Canada), Xiyu Lin (China), Lydia Ko (New Zealand), Miyu Yamashita (Japan), Maja Stark (Sweden), Patty Tavatanakit (Thailand), Linn Grant (Sweden), Carlota Ciganda (Spain), Leona Maguire (Ireland), Georgia Hall (Great Britain), Ashleigh Buhai (South Africa), Aditi Ashok (India), Gaby Lopez (Mexico), Esther Henseleit (Germany), Alexandra Forsterling (Germany), Albane Valenzuela (Switzerland), Perrine Delacour (France), Emily Kristine Pedersen (Denmark), Peiyun Chien (Chinese Taipei), Nanna Koerstz Madsen (Denmark), Anne Van Dam (Netherlands), Azahara Munoz (Spain), Bianca Pagdanganan (Philippines), Morgane Metraux (Switzerland), Stephanie Meadow (Ireland), Manon De Roey (Belgium), Wei-Ling Hsu (Chinese Taipei), Diksha Dagar (India), Emma Spitz (Austria), Shannon Tan (Singapore), Maria Fassi (Mexico), Celine Borge (Norway), Klara Davidson Spilkova (Czech Republic), Paula Reto (South Africa), Mariajo Uribe (Colombia), Alessandra Fanali (Italy), Ashley Lau (Malaysia), Ursula Wikstrom (Finland), Ana Belac (Slovenia), Sara Kouskova (Czech Republic), Alena Sharp (Canada), Momoka Kobori (New Zealand), Dottie Ardina (Philippines), Noora Komulainen (Finland), Dewi Weber (Netherlands), Madelene Stavnar (Norway) and Ines Laklalech (Morocco).